SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE MEETING - MINUTES

3/12/20, 12:30 – 2:30 PM 2345 Reitz Union

### ATTENDEES:

MEMBERS:

David Lucier (Chair), Matthew Williams, , John Duncan, Cindy Craig VIA PHONE: Lauren Berkow, Wilcley Lima, Chris Martinez GUESTS/NON-MEMBERS: Debbie Lescault, Hannah Ulloa, Corey Farmer, Fiona Hogan

## CALL TO ORDER:

Meeting called to order at 12:35 pm (David Lucier, Chair)

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

John Duncan moved to approve minutes from 2/13/20 meeting, seconded by Lauren Berkow. The minutes were approved.

## **CHAMPIONS FOR CHANGE NOMINATIONS:**

Hannah Ulloa from the Office of Sustainability reviewed the information that had been sent out to the Sustainability Committee prior to the meeting:

- A list of all those nominated for a Champions for Change Sustainability award
- A list of the top 8 nominees as identified in an anonymous group survey alongside their nomination information
- The criteria for winning a Champions for Change award

The Committee reviewed the complete list of nominees and agreed that they could move forward just reviewing the top 8 candidates. They considered each one individually before selecting the final 5.

#### 1. Kristina Rodriguez

Wilcley Lima moved to select Kristina Rodriguez for a Champions for Change award. John Duncan seconded the motion.

#### 2. #GatorsBEATWaste Station in the Reitz Union

Wilcley Lima abstained from this vote. John Duncan moved to select the #GatorsBEATWaste team a Champions for Change award. Cindy Craig seconded the motion.

#### 3. The Energy Management team

John Duncan moved to select the Energy Management team for a Champions for Change award. Lauren Berkow seconded the motion.

## 4. TAPS/PDC Garage 14

Wilcley Lima moved to select the TAPS/PDC team behind Garage 14 for a Champions for Change award. Cindy Craig seconded the motion.

## 5. Angela Wilson

Lauren Berkow moved to select Angela Wilson for a Champions for Change award. Chris Martinez seconded the motion.

## ACTION:

By motion carried by all voting members of the committee the 5 selected nominees (Kristina Rodriguez, #GatorsBEATWaste Station, the Energy Management team, TAPS/PDC Garage 14, Angela Wilson) were approved to be granted Champions for Change awards.

## EXISTING BUSINESS

**Glitter Sub-Committee:** David Lucier requested an update on the progress of the Glitter Sub-Committee, no members of the sub-committee present to provide an update.

**Transportation Discussion:** David Lucier requested an update on the request from the previous meeting for members of the Sustainability Committee to reach out to their peers to learn more about the barriers to using the bus.

- People who need to take their children to school are often unable to access the bus due to logistical challenges.
- Many of the buses are used and their interiors do not appear to be in the best shape because many are used buses from other municipalities
  - The Haile Shuttle is using smaller, new shuttle buses.

# ROUNDTABLE UPDATE

The Office of Sustainability provided updates to the Sustainability Committee.

- Due to the COVID-19 crisis, Bike Month has been cancelled and it is likely that most events will be cancelled or rescheduled.
- The Office of Sustainability hosted a Climate Action Plan Listening Session on February 19<sup>th</sup>. There was a lot of active engagement from the attendees despite a fire alarm going off during the session. There may be another similar session scheduled in the future.
- Faculty Senate Budget Committee will be hearing from Winn Phillips about sustainability and divestment on March 13<sup>th</sup>.

## ADJOURNMENT:

Motion to adjourn by Cindy Craig, seconded by John Duncan. Meeting was adjourned 1:20 PM.